FIFE forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

FIFE 0.4.0 has been released on 15th of January, 2017!

Author Topic: Problem compiling Guichan in Linux with nonstandard SDL paths  (Read 3073 times)

dae

• View Profile
Problem compiling Guichan in Linux with nonstandard SDL paths
« on: October 26, 2011, 07:11:41 am »

Hi,

I'm considering using FIFE in my project. I'm new to it and also don't know everything about Linux, so getting started is giving me some trouble.

I'm trying to compile FIFE 0.3.3 in 64bit Linux. I don't have admin rights so I installed SDL, SDL_Image and other stuff in a nonstandard location by compiling them from sources, giving --prefix=foo for the configure scripts. I edited build/linux2-config.py for the necessary lib and include paths (adding prefix/include, prefix/include/SDL to CPPPATH and prefix/LIB to LIBPATH and LD_RUN_PATH).

When I try to run "scons ext", it seems the prefix/paths from linux2-config.py are not sent to the commands that configure and compile the included Guichan. It apparently finds the systemwide SDL headers from /usr/include instead of what I installed, and there is no SDL_Image there. So Guichan fails to use SDL.

Then I tried to manually compile Guichain using configure --prefix=foo; make; make install, and now it found the SDL_Image.h, but then:

Code: [Select]
checking SDL/SDL_image.h usability... yes
checking SDL/SDL_image.h presence... yes
checking for SDL/SDL_image.h... yes
checking for IMG_Load in -lSDL_image... no
configure: WARNING: SDL_image support skipped when SDL_image not found.

I can't read configure scripts well enough to understand what it's doing and why it fails. If I edit configure to skip the test, then make fails, since the compile commands don't use -I or -L to specify the paths to SDL_Image (despite running configure --prefix=foo before that):

Code: [Select]