FIFE forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

FIFE 0.4.0 has been released on 15th of January, 2017!

Author Topic: Before starting  (Read 4220 times)

the_ninja1001

• View Profile
Before starting
« on: August 26, 2011, 07:47:36 pm »

So i have been looking for a developer software for my game idea for a long time now i've used unity unreal engine gamemaker 8 and rpg maker none have been able to do what i want without an extensive amount of coding 'which I'm not very good at i only know the basics of c++ plaining on reading up on visual basic soon hopefully that helps"

anyway the basic game idea is to set up a turn based strategy game like advanced wars or final fantasy tactics that works on a square grid field like 10x by 10x

and also have a tcg (trading card game element) or deck of cards that can be used to manipulate the units on the filed or the game in general

(ex break the game up into phases draw phase (draw a card ) main phase 1 (play cards) move phase (move units) attack phase (declare/conduct combat) main phase 2 (play cards) end phase (end turn)

so basically its two types of games working together i'm sure other people have done this before but nothing really comes to mind (think axis and allies miniatures with a card game aspect (like magic) affecting the units on the field )

-any ideas and having not downloaded your software yet do you guys feel the software will do what I'm trying to do or should i cont my search for the perfect engine?
any advice will help thanks

- the_ninja1001

vtchill

• Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Before starting
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2011, 02:38:43 pm »

Unfortunately this is difficult to answer. All game engines/frameworks depend on the end user having programming knowledge. This is really what makes them flexible.