FIFE forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

FIFE 0.4.0 has been released on 15th of January, 2017!

Author Topic: Hello There!  (Read 4002 times)

Mallow

• View Profile
Hello There!
« on: August 06, 2009, 06:57:31 pm »

Hello Hello,

I go by the alias "Mallow". I am a computer systems student who really loved the fallout games. Except Fallout 3, I think that game would smell like vomit, if it had a smell that is. Anyways, I have been checking out the fife engine since it was announced a couple of years ago. I heard about it from NMA (No Mutants Allowed) The guys there for the most part are like me, they loved the original games and are into the whole isometric gaming thing.

This last year I have picked up some PHP, C++, and Visual Basic. Is the fife engine coded primarily with C++? I am wondering if I can contribute to this project. I think it would be a cool thing to add on to my resume as well  8)

I was curious, what level of coder are you guys looking for? In C++ I can do loops,output statements, if statements, system commands like "pause" or "cls" for example. I guess you can say I am somewhat of a beginner but I can expand my knowledge on the language. Anyways, Peace!

mvBarracuda

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Hello There!
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2009, 03:40:48 am »

Hi mallow.

There are two possible types of answers. I'll go for both and I hope you don't mind my openess. The engine is both written in C++ and Python, though the vast majority of the code (the so called engine core) is C++. Now C++ is a very complex language with a lot of pitfalls that takes years (as in 3-6 years, not as in 1-2 years) to get comfortable with and even longer to "master" the language.