FIFE forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

FIFE 0.4.0 has been released on 15th of January, 2017!

Author Topic: Is FIFE a royalty free option for commercial indie games?  (Read 3466 times)

Asfasa

• View Profile
Is FIFE a royalty free option for commercial indie games?
« on: April 04, 2008, 02:02:00 am »

I was wondering if you could clarify what your license allows for and doesn't allow for. I'm new to the engine but it seems like something I'd like to try creating a commercial game on, and I'm not clear on whether or not this is possible under your current license. Reading the documentation I get a sense that this would be possible with certain stipulations that I don't fully understand.

In a nutshell, is FIFE an engine for indie developers looking to create royalty free commercial games? I'm an idiot when it comes to parsing legal jargon, so maybe this clarification will help others with the same dilemma.

Thanks!

mvBarracuda

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Is FIFE a royalty free option for commercial indie games?
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2008, 11:09:28 am »

Here he go :-)

We're currently in the process of switching to a different license so I'll try to summarize the most important points about the current and the future license.

Current license: GPL
- Fees: You can sell a FIFE-based game and you don't need to pay us any royalty fees.
- Closed source libraries: you can't use any closed source libraries in combination with FIFE at the moment as all of your libraries need to be GPL-compatible.
- Code licensing: you'll need to publish all of your C++ & Python code under GPL. That means everyone can take your code and redistribute it without having to pay you any fee. They could even sell your code but it's quite unlikely that somebody would pay for it.