FIFE forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

FIFE 0.4.0 has been released on 15th of January, 2017!

Author Topic: New developer looking for answers about the engine capabilities  (Read 2832 times)

Pheidian

• View Profile

Hi!

I'm a lead designer and AD of a new project we've started around a month ago. It seems that our own engine developer possibly vanished from the earths surface since no one can get hold of him, so we're trying to find alternatives to continue the work.

Few questions that regard our game creation methods:

- Does  FIFE support pre-rendered backgrounds and color ID layering for depth sorting (background, object layer, always on top) - We don't want to do all of the assets pre-rendered, since we are animating the shit out of all entities (butterflies, trees, grass patches waving in the wind). But we dont want to go to full tile based planning, to be able to make more handcrafter looking backgrounds and worlds - architectural wise as well as nature design wise.
- If it does, how efficient the engine is for big background maps of roughly sized 8192x8192 - naturally engine / we can split it up to smaller textures as well if this is becoming a performance issue.
- Is there a possibility to implement new depth sorting methods for FIFE engine, for example taking the generated zbuffer from pre-rendered background and use is together with ground level "depth gradient" to sort height differences and depth dynamically troughout the map.

Thanks in advance, I'm not one of our coders so my explanations may be "graphics designer point of view" more than technical knowledge stuff.

Here's a little preview test image to show what we mean (trees are going to be animated sprites so they wiggle in the wind) - but the statue for example needs to be depth sorted and we don't want it to be separate tile.

helios

• Developer
    • View Profile