FIFE forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

News:

FIFE 0.4.0 has been released on 15th of January, 2017!

Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Jim's problems  (Read 8514 times)

Jim

• View Profile
Jim's problems
« on: July 01, 2013, 10:56:33 am »

Hi, as a complete beginner I thought I'd start out with a simple little task: incorporating the actions of the fiferpg demo into a context menu. I managed to make almost everything work by just following the way they did it in the rio de hola demo and making some adjustments here and there, but now I'm stuck at the very end: when I try to map the widgets to the corresponding events, it just ends up as the character executing the "Look" action every right click and the "instancemenu" widget not doing anything anymore. It works fine when I map something other than the fiferpg actions, but when I have:

self.instancemenu.mapEvents({
            'moveButton' : self.onMoveButtonPress(player, entity, actions),
            'readButton' : self.onReadButtonPress(player, entity, actions),
            'inspectButton' : self.onInspectButtonPress(player, entity, actions),
        })

corresponding to, e.g.:

def onMoveButtonPress(self, player, entity, actions):
        self.hide_instancemenu()
        fifeagent.approach_and_execute(player, entity,
            callback=lambda:
                actions["MoveAgent"].execute()
        )

The problem occurs. Does anybody have a clue what I'm doing wrong? I put the updated fiferpg demo in a rar file here by the way.
« Last Edit: July 02, 2013, 06:39:08 pm by Jim »

ChrisOelmueller

• View Profile
Re: Widgets problem
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2013, 12:43:26 pm »

Hi Jim!

From what you describe, it sounds like one of the pitfalls that manages to catch not only beginners - it's certainly not as intuitive as it should be.
If you're familiar with the concept of "callbacks", in short mapEvents expects those as arguments.