FIFE forums

General Category => Help and troubleshooting => Topic started by: 2000andrea on October 16, 2017, 09:49:30 am

Title: Ubuntu Engine Building Issue
Post by: 2000andrea on October 16, 2017, 09:49:30 am
Hi guys,
Ubuntu newbye here! I'm trying to build fifengine following the guide on the documentation (developers manual). I've arrived at the point of building the engine using cmake, and it is at this point that cmake gives me errors. It says that I have installed swig version 3.0.8, which i cannot use. I tried to remove the application (previously installed with "apt-get install"), and reinstall it via the tar.gz files found on the official site. I tried to use the 3.0.7 and the 3.0.6 versions, but both of them gives me the same error.
I really don't know where to put my hands and what to do.
Maybe I'm installing it in the wrong way? I started using Ubuntu "seriously" about a month ago, probably I'm missing something obvious regarding the installation process.
Title: Re: Ubuntu Engine Building Issue
Post by: LinuxDonald on October 16, 2017, 12:27:35 pm
First it would be good to know what Ubuntu version do you use? Because i have with Ubuntu 17.04 no problems.
Title: Re: Ubuntu Engine Building Issue
Post by: 2000andrea on October 17, 2017, 10:35:54 am
First it would be good to know what Ubuntu version do you use? Because i have with Ubuntu 17.04 no problems.

I have Ubuntu 16.04 LTS.
Few moments ago I tried with Swig 2.0, but it gives the same error. In case these info matter, I have aliased the name python to refer to the (newest) Python 3.4, and I have cmake 3.4.
Title: Re: Ubuntu Engine Building Issue
Post by: LinuxDonald on October 17, 2017, 12:50:26 pm
You need to install an newer swig version. Swig 3.0.8 is broken with fife.
You could use: https://packages.ubuntu.com/zesty/swig its Swig 3.0.10

And an error log would be nice too.
Title: Re: Ubuntu Engine Building Issue
Post by: 2000andrea on October 18, 2017, 02:34:36 pm
Thank you very much, that solved the problem!
If I may ask here, without creating another topic, how can I use codeblocks/visual studio code? I searched in the build files the .cbp file/solution file, but I have not found them. Perhaps I have to create them with a command to cmake?


EDIT: Nevermind, just figured it out myself.